1960 – 1980

Béara won a Kelleher Shield (County Senior League) in 1960 with Garnish representation from John L. O’Sullivan, Tadhg O’Sullivan, Bernie O’Sullivan, Sean Sheehan and Noel Kelly.

Garnish contributed to the highly successful Béara team that won the Cork senior championship in 1967.

The two-in-a-row team of 1978 and 1979 was one of the strongest to ever win a Béara title and wre unlucky to make it a 3-in-a-row in 1980 having been narrowly beaten by a last minute Urhan penalty. 1953 – 1978 was a long time for Garnish without winning a Béara championship. It was Fr. Brian Kelly‘s arrival in the parish that led to a 25 year gap in Garnish winning a Béara title being bridged.

An interesting feature of this victory was that John L. O’Sullivan won his first ever championship with Garnish after 20 years playing for the club.

Garnish players who represented Cork during this period include:-

    • Jon L O’Sullivan Cork minors 1957, Cork Juniors 1960, Cork Seniors 1962.
    • Dickie Kelly won an All-Ireland minor medal with Cork in 1964.
    • Ray Lowney was on the Cork U21 panel in 1966.
    • Cormac O’Sullivan played with Cork seniors in 1967 and 1968.